Health City Team

Our team includes a small group of highly skilled professionals with extensive backgrounds in health care and business.


Reg Joseph
View Bio

Lisa-photo copy

Lisa Laferriere
Director, Business Operations


Rebecca Keichinger
Executive Assistant


Justin Pitt
Coordinator, Business Operations

Health City Board

Our Board provides governance and strategic oversight to Health City and is accountable for all actions and activities related to Health City.

To contact any of our board members, please email


Jason Pincock – Board Chair
Effective March 16, 2018
View Bio


Randy Yatscoff – Vice Chair
View Bio


Mel Wong – Director
View Bio


Dianne Balon – Director
Vice President of Government, Alberta Blue Cross
View Bio


Jim Saunderson – Director
View Bio

Health City Steering Committee

The role of the Health City Steering Committee is to provide strategic direction and leadership to the Health City Board to drive the future of innovation in our region’s health sector. The Steering Committee members are a dedicated group of individuals from organizations across our health innovation ecosystem.

Read the Steering Committee Terms of Reference

Jason Pincock, Board Chair, effective March 16, 2018 
View Bio »

Alex Clark (Dr.)
AVP Research, University of Alberta

Michelle Evans
Assistant Deputy Minister, Economic Development, Trade & Tourism

Dean Screpnek
Assistant Deputy Minister – Health Standards, Quality & Performance, Alberta Health

Brenda Hemmelgarn (Dr.)
Dean, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry, University of Alberta

Deborah James, PhD
Associate Vice-President, Innovation, University of Alberta

Mark Joffe (Dr.)
VP & Medical Director for Northern Alberta, Alberta Health Services

Tim Murphy
VP – Health, Alberta Innovates

Andrew MacIsaac
CEO, Applied Pharmaceutical Innovation & Assistant Dean, Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Alberta

Robert Raucher
VP Western Canada, MEDEC

Christy Holtby
Managing Director, Partnerships & Sales, Alberta Machine Intelligence Institute (Amii)

Justin Riemer
Assistant Deputy Minister, Alberta Region, Western Economic Diversification Canada / Government of Canada

Shane Sabatino
President, TELUS Employer Solutions &  VP TELUS Health, Public Sector Canada

Robb Stoddard
President & CEO, BioAlberta

Kathryn Todd (Dr.)
VP Research, Innovation & Analysis, Alberta Health Services

Chris McCabe (Dr.)
Executive Director & CEO, Institute of Health Economics (IHE)

Bobbi Elliot
CEO, TEC Edmonton

Health City Industry Advisory Committee Members

The role of the Health City Industry Advisory Committee is to provide insight and leadership to the Health City Board (and thereby management).

Read the Industry Advisory Committee Terms of Reference

Jason Pincock, Board Chair,

Robert Burrell 
Professor and Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Faculties of Engineering and Medicine & Dentistry

Jim Rikley 
President, Associated Health Systems Inc.

Joel Rikley
Vice President – Partner, Associated Health Systems, Inc.

Guy Plamondon
Director (and founding partner), priMED Medical Products Inc.

Murray Ellis
CEO, Classic Health

Jennifer Bisson 
CEO , Mountain Integrated Medical Devices

Christopher Micetich
President and CEO, Brass Dome Ventures, Ltd.

Badeia Jawhari 
Manager, Healthcare Technology Strategy and Architecture, Deloitte